P.S. I Like You by Kasie West – Book Review

P.S. I Like You

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Description:

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

My Review:

Let me start by saying this book is adorable, fun and a quick and easy read.  I had put off reading it for quite a while because I am not usually drawn to Young Adult Contemporary novels, but I received this book as part of my OwlCrate subscription and it had sat on my bookshelf since then.  Trying to clear off my shelf and get through my books I chose this book because it looked like I could get through it quickly.  I was correct but I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did!

Lily is a likable, offbeat girl who lives with her quirky family who at times drive her crazy but it is definitely a home filled with love.  Lily is a musician who attempts to write songs but can never quite complete one.  Bored in Chemistry class she loves to write in her notebook, but one day scribbles lyrics on her desk, only to return next time to find that someone else has responded to her writing.  They become sort of pen pals and Lily is consumed with finding her next letter from her “Pen Pal” and figuring out who it is.

There are three people that Lily suspects and each one could be the “one”.  The story is like a Young Adult retelling of  the movie You’ve Got Mail.  There is the right amount of suspense and build-up to finding out who this mysterious pen pal is.  The characters in the book have just the right amount of likability and there are even some mean girls thrown in for conflict.

I looked forward to reading this book once I began it and I loved how it ended.  It is a perfect summer or vacation read.

P.S.  I liked this book!

Leave a Reply

