Nevernight by Jay Kristoff – Review

Nevernight

Rating: 1 star

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life . . . but her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now a sixteen year old, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic – the Red Church . . . If she survives initiation . . . she will be one step closer to the only thing she desires.  

Revenge.

I know that many YA fans like this book, but I am not one of them.  The book should have been called Neverending.  I found myself flipping through so many pages just to get it over with and it couldn’t have ended soon enough for me.

Nevernight refers to the fact that there is literally never a night because of its three suns.  Yet, this book was so dark I kept forgetting this and constantly pictured it taking place in the dark of night.

Mia Corvere is ten years old when her father is hanged as a traitor to the Republic and her mother forces her to watch his execution.  After his death the rest of her family is targeted but she escapes, hell bent on revenge.  She is taken under the wing of Mercurio, a former killer who trains her in the art of murder.

This new life leads her to the Red Church, a school for assassins.  Every student is there seeking revenge on someone who has grievously wronged them.  Not only will students learn how to kill, but they have to learn how to survive their classes.  The faculty puts them through trials where they have to use what they have learned as well as relying on their wits to pass these tests.  If they fail they can lose their life.  It’s the risks one takes to become a trained assassin.

There are some twists and turns as well as a few mysterious deaths that need to be solved but I really didn’t care.  I found most of the characters to be ruthless and heartless with no endearing or redeeming characteristics.  There was too much violence for violence’s sake and I had to keep flipping and skimming the pages just to get to the end.

This book made me think of the Hunger Games, which I really liked and found strangely fascinating.  When reading those books I was surprised to find myself enjoying a story where children are forced to kill other children.  The difference there is that the characters were developed to be likable and heroes that I rooted for because they were forced to kill to survive in a dystopian world that I hoped they would destroy and restore humanity.

In Nevernight there is nothing redeeming or hopeful about a school that trains assassins who are spurred on by avenging personal grudges.  What happened to Mia was unfair, but not enough to make me care.  I was grateful that I read this as a free ebook from the library.  It is a purchase I would have regretted.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

