Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child 2

Rating: 4 stars

I found the 8th installment to be a fun and fast read. I enjoyed being immersed in the wizarding world of Harry Potter again. This story focuses on the next generation of wizards, specifically Albus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy. These two sons of famous nemeses form an unlikely friendship during their first year at Hogwarts. The play fast forwards time quickly through their years at Hogwarts while also presenting the reader with each sons’ difficult relationship with their fathers. Harry Potter, the beloved orphan-turned-wizard hero who everyone loves has difficulty bonding with his middle son. What an overwhelming reputation for a son to live up to! Scorpius has to deal with his own problems and devious rumors that make him an outcast as well. The friendship between Albus and Scorpius plays out nicely and leads to a fun and eye opening adventure that causes many problems to be solved.

As much as I liked this book, I felt it was a fast read and left more to be desired. I missed the detailed descriptions of the wizarding world that I loved in the original books. This book/play moves faster and doesn’t have the same attention to detail.  Then again, it is a script and not a novel.   But that shouldn’t stop anyone from reading this book. I loved the way the angst of being a teenager and parenting a teenager was played out. The story still focuses on friendship, courage, and love, which was so much a part of the previous books. I would recommend this story to all Potter fans, who I am sure have already finished it! I do hope to see the play one day.

I do want to point out that although I gave this book and Illuminae both 4 stars, I did so for very different reasons.  Illuminae got 4 stars because of its presentation and ability to evoke such despair, normally something I don’t look for in the books I read.  This book got 4 stars because it was so much fun and I really enjoyed reading it.  I couldn’t put it down and felt good when I was finished reading.

Leave a Reply

